Distance and letters

These two quotes have gotten me through quite a lot:

“Distance isn’t for the fearful; it’s for the bold. It is for those who are willing to spend a lot of time alone in exchange for a little time with the one they love. It is for those who know a good thing when they see it, even if they don’t see it nearly enough.”

“Long distance relationships are hard. Really hard. And no one else quite understands. There are more reasons to fight, to cry, to break up. But distance also gives us a reason to love harder than any other couple should. To fight harder, because in the end, we have something to gain. We have miles to fight through, and closeness to fight for. We put our entire beings into these relationships, and although we may not hold hands as often, or hug as often, or touch our lips often, we will never take those things for granted. Each touch is special, each kiss is cherished. We may be separated by space and time, but the bond between couples who push through the hardest of time is the strongest. There may be miles between, but there is no one closer.”

I tell my roommate often that I am in a relationship with our mailbox. Each day, I check the mail and send off a letter. I’ve had pen pals before, people I’ve known from school and they’ve moved and at times letters were our only way of communicating. But I have never written so many letters in a month. I have never checked the mailbox multiple times in one day (our mail comes at different times depending on the day). I have received seven or eight letters. It’s been about a week since I received my last letter. I know I have received more than most, for a fact. I have talked to many of the girls involved with someone in BC and we are all very lucky for all the letters we have received. “No news is good news”, I have been told this multiple times by other Marines or from their spouses. I keep reminding myself that each time I checked the mailbox this previous week.

About maybemiranda

21. Wife. Student.
This entry was posted in military love, relationships. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

