Acceptance

“Do not fight for acceptance. You should not have to.”

Reading this surprised me, I have always fought for acceptance, at least from someone. I finally realized if someone does not like me, screw them. I love who I am. Yeah, I make mistakes but hell, everyone does. No one is perfect, we are all human. I make my choices, I know my consequences. I am young, but I am not naive. I know what I aim for. I get lost on my way, but I either find my way or find a better path. I realized I should not fight for anyone’s acceptance except mine. I have people who love me for who I am and when it comes down to it, they are all I need.

Never cut yourself short. Never think you are the one who needs to change because that is never the case. If someone does not accept you for who you are. You do not need that person in your life.

I have fought all my life to be accepted by someone who did not like me for God only knows what reasons. It has taken me nineteen years of my life to figure out that I do not need acceptance from anyone but myself. Anyone who has a problem with me, my opinions, anything I do. They can leave. Changing for someone is not being loved by someone. Someone who loves you, loves you for who you are straight from the get-go. They would never want you to change. No one is going to like all your life choices and decisions. No one is going to like all your opinions, but people that love you will at least tolerate it.

“Those who mind, don’t matter. Those who matter, don’t mind.” It is just as simple as that.

About maybemiranda

21. Wife. Student.
This entry was posted in ranting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

