On Bees and Efs

It is interesting how we pick a person or two or three and dub them as our “best of friends”. We take these people, they become close to us, and let them consume a part of our life. We, at first, do not welcome them with completely open arms. We test them with information, and after a while, we let them in. We spend hours talking about one another, drowning the other in somewhat meaningless information, but we enjoy every minute of it. I have a few of these people in my life. I cling to them more than I do other “friends”. I limit the information with certain people, and with others, they might know my whole life story. Best friends do not always come in pretty packages. Sometimes your best friend could have been your worst enemy at one time.

Nikki and I went to Navarro elementary school together, in fourth grade I remember us being friends. When we had field trips or little events we hung out with the same group of people, but we were not exactly close. We got to middle school and I used to sit at the same table as her, but we did not really talk. My best friend was Justine, and I had been glued to her hip since the second grade. Seventh grade year was the year I wore black and was an “emo kid”. I was going through emotionally issues and that whole self-finding process. I moved to the table with all the other “emo kids” and away from Nikki and Justine.

Nikki had became friends with Teresa, a girl I could stand on occasion, who sat at the same table and Nikki finally migrated over. Nikki was determined to be my friend, I was determined to keep her as far away from me as possible. I do not know why I did not like Nikki.. Maybe because she was a pretty blonde sweet girl and I felt like I spat acid or, maybe because she knew what happened with my parents and I hated talking about it. I hated talking at that time, period… and all she ever did was talk.

When we were in eighth grade, I found a reason to hate her, she started dating one of my exes, and I was a spiteful bitch… I made her cry in choir class one day because of it. Our choir teacher put us in her office and locked us in there until we could get along. After that day we have been glued to each other’s hip ever since. We had a few ins and outs. I took other friends’ side over Nikki’s quite a few times, and it was over the dumbest stuff. Nikki has always stood by me, even when I was not there for her. Overall, I do not know why Nikki is still my friend. I was not that great to her then, but since then I have always tried making it up to her.

me and nikki

We have grown up from our younger days.
When we were just some kids in choir.

me and nikki 2

We became silly girls, who smiled and laughed through our pain, but we did it, together.

me and nikki 3

We became people we never thought we would be.
We became sisters.

me and nikki 4

We graduated from high school.
We began working, but we still find time for some fun in our lives.
me and nikki 6

We are still closer than ever, even when we are apart from one another for so long.

Nikki told me a while back that when we were in middle school, she had a feeling I needed someone and she was determined to be there for me. I am glad she was. She has helped me through a lot, she is someone I confide in constantly. I tell her everything. She is not only my best friend, but in her own way, she is my sister.

 


http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/on-bees-and-efs/

“Do you — or did you ever — have a Best Friend? Do you believe in the idea of one person whose friendship matters the most? Tell us a story about your BFF (or lack thereof).”

About maybemiranda

21. Wife. Student.
This entry was posted in home, Life, relationships. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

