The Roarin’ Twenties

The Roaring Twenties are no longer. Welcome to my Selfish Twenties.


“Your 20’s are your ‘selfish’ years. It’s a decade to immerse yourself in every single thing possible. Be selfish with your time, and all the aspects of you. Tinker with shit, travel, explore, love a lot, love a little, and never touch the ground.”

― Kyoko Escamilla

I am twenty, I have my own life. That is part of growing up. Making the decisions I need and doing the things I want. I still care about the people in my life but I need to figure out things for myself.

I posted that on facebook with a photo that says: “We’re adults and busy. No reason to be in constant contact with you to prove my friendship to you. Just know when and if you need me, I’m here.” I had a friend of mine comment on it with “I honestly think it’s the biggest reason I have no plans to marry soon or bear children because I am 20 & selfish. I have a lot of tinkering to do!”

I get what she means, I do, but I didn’t have it in me to comment and tell her all my insight and opinions. I guess when I posted all that I did it to point out to my family that this is my time to do what I want to do for once and not for them. My family, like every family, expects me to do this and to do that. I would list all the family members expectations, but I doubt this post would ever end at that point. But how my friend responded, is not what I meant. Getting married and having my own family would be my own way of starting my own life that does not revolve around my demanding family members who lack interest in my life and are selfish themselves. I have always been a freaking people pleaser and I am tired of it. I want to be happy on my own terms. I want to focus on college and my relationship with my amazing boyfriend Adam. I am tired of caring for others who do not care for me and my happiness. It is my turn to be selfish like they have been for years. I have my own tinkering that I need to do.

About maybemiranda

21. Wife. Student.
This entry was posted in family, home, Life, military love, ranting, relationships, school, work. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

