Introvert, me.

I had seen a few articles about introverts and extroverts, some of them I have skimmed over until recently. I actually read one that says “10 Ways Introverts Interact Differently With The World” and oh man, am I introvert.

I love sports events, I generally like shopping. I like going out and doing things but once someone that I either rarely see or do not know starts making small talk, I do not know what to say or do. I have always claimed that it is because I am shy, but when my friends who know me quite well hear that, they laugh because around them I am not. “Shyness is about fear of social judgment,” Cain said. “Introversion is more about how do you respond to stimulation, including social stimulation. So extraverts really crave large amounts of stimulation, whereas introverts feel at their most alive and their most switched on and their most capable when they are in quieter, more low-key environments.”

I withdraw myself from crowds, if I can, I will sit in the back or not close to strangers if I have the choice. The resulting crowd, which is often loud, noisy and congested, easily overstimulates introverts and drains them of their physical energy. They end up feeling more physically isolated than supported by their surroundings, and would rather be anywhere but that sea of people.

I suck at small talk, I avoid it, I hate it. Small talk stresses them out, while deeper conversations make them feel alive.

They succeed on stage — just not in the chit-chat afterwards. Once again, small talk. 

They get distracted easily, but rarely feel bored. Pffft, I am in class right now and on here… well.

They are naturally drawn to more creative, detail-oriented and solitary careers. I am a business management major, I want to own my own business or open something with Nikki. Solitary in a way, plenty details. 

When surrounded by people, they locate themselves close to an exit. Introverts not only feel physically uncomfortable in crowded places, but also do their best to mediate that discomfort by hanging as close to the periphery as possible. Whether it be by an exit, at the back of a concert hall, or an aisle row on an airplane, they avoid being surrounded by people on all sides, according to Dembling. If you just knew me, you would know this is true :/

They think before they speak. I am always thinking, and I usually think before I speak. Only time I don’t is when I am too angry to think straight.

They literally shut down when it’s time to be alone.
“Solitude matters, and for some people, it is the air that they breathe.” – Susan Cain
I have times where I shut myself in my room and stay there. I separate myself from multiple things when I need my time. 

 

 

About maybemiranda

21. Wife. Student.
This entry was posted in home, Life, relationships, school, technology. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Introvert, me.

  1. You definitely should read Quiet by Susan Cain if you have not already. Incredible book about how to use introversion to your advantage!

Leave a Reply

