put a simple ring on it.

I don’t understand the hype about big engagement rings. My Microeconomics professor likes to point out a lot of off topic things while we are in class. He mentioned how when he was close to engagement, the ring was supposed to be a month’s salaries worth. Now it is three months, said by many of the men in my class. He then pointed out by the time most of us have children, our boys will most likely have to spend a year’s salary for an “acceptable” engagement ring. I get it, us girls like pretty things and it is thought that we are suppose to get diamonds upon getting engaged/married.

Now there has been a survey by Economics professors from Emory University that has proved: (click the links)

  1. Men who spent $2,000 to $4,000 on engagement rings were 1.3 times more likely to end up divorced than men who spent $500 to $2,000. Women who received expensive engagement rings also experienced higher rates of divorce.
  2. Women whose weddings cost $20,000 or more were 3.5 times more likely to end up divorced than women who spent $5,000 to $10,000. (According to The Knot, the average cost of a wedding in the U.S. is $30,000).

This is crazy.

Engagement rings are a scam fellas! <– click it, there’s a video.

I am sorry to speak the truth and ruin this thought process that we’ve had for many years.
I would settle for a band wedding ring.
Oh, but I forgot, as I have been told multiple time, I am not supposed to settle.
Ehhhh fuck those opinions though. I believe in the whole, if I ‘need’ a better ring, after five or ten years, sure get me a ‘better’ ring.

My parents did not have the ideal marriage or life, they did divorce later on, but they had band rings and that’s what I grew up thinking as a wedding ring. He didn’t ravish her with nice things, but my father did love my mother. I know that much. Their simple ring was never the problem.

About maybemiranda

21. Wife. Student.
This entry was posted in family, Life, ranting, relationships, school, technology. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to put a simple ring on it.

  1. Glad to see there’s at least one girl in the “engagement rings are a scam” camp. Even from a practical perspective, think of all the more useful things someone could buy their fiance with the $2,000-5,000 many people spend on rings. That’s a downpayment on a car, a really nice vacation, a big chunk of money towards the wedding, etc. Engagement rings ARE a scam, in the most literal sense. The currently accepted “tradition” was created from the ground up by De Beers. You should add in a link to the De Beers marketing story somewhere! http://blog.hubspot.com/marketing/diamond-de-beers-marketing-campaign (not my post, just a good one I found on google)

  2. The ring definitely should not matter. I am not one to buy into those statistics but I think expecting men to spend an exact time’s worth of salary on a ring is an unfair standard made by society. So many people do not get married or put off engagement because they want to spend a lot of money on the ring/wedding and I find that kind of ridiculous. If you are ready to be engaged or married then do so. I am not traditional so am biased.

  3. Lauren Elisabeth says:

    I was just talking about this with my boyfriend! I don’t want anything huge; we can use the money we saved on that for something else (like the actual wedding or a honeymoon in Hawaii). If he wants to get me a ring, I told him to go for moissanite. It’s waaay cheaper, but it’s also scientifically more beautiful (more brilliance, clearer, and it doesn’t come in degrees of clarity). And yeah, my parents have been together for twenty-something years, have five kids, and only have simple silver wedding bands. It’s not like they love each other any less.

  4. Lauren Elisabeth says:

    Reblogged this on Cammies and Chiffon and commented:
    LADIES. Pay attention!

Leave a Reply

